Why I Write for Medium

Teresa Roberts
2 min readJun 12, 2022

--

It’s Not for Money —Yet

Coffee by the Mediterranean Sea (my photo)

No matter where I am in the world, I start most mornings with grabbing a cup of coffee and then writing. That’s been my routine for years.

I started writing for Medium only a few months ago.

For the time being, it has become my go-to spot to think out loud. I appreciate finding a place where readers gather as well as writers and many writers are also readers. I hope that last sentence made sense.

Recently, a reader read one of my essays and offered a quick edit of a verb tense mistake I failed to catch.

I thanked her. However, by the tone of the rest of her response, I sincerely doubt that she dropped by to offer support or share ideas. This particular essay was my most popular to date. I gained one hundred new followers in two days. It seemed petty to nitpick a mistake of a single word. After all, I write almost daily without the luxury of an editor.

Okay, I’ll freely admit that I’m a bit sensitive when people critique my writing.

When I first published on Amazon, the reviews had the power to disrupt my entire day. Eventually, I discovered that my favorite English author, Ruth Rendell, had reviewers who were less than kind, too. That helped to put things in perspective.

If it could happen to Ruth, then it could happen to me.

While it’s true that I’m not writing for money, at least not yet, I’m happy to see that Medium rewards writers who choose compensation. I’ve made money over the years. It feels good, but it isn’t easy to do.

I’m here to share my thoughts and exchange ideas.

Writing is my preferred method of delving below the surface. I’m not a small talker. Maybe, I’m blogging. I managed a blog site for years. While there are some similarities between the two, I think what I’m experiencing on Medium is easier.

I no longer have to maintain a website because I have a ready-made platform.

I’ve reached the conclusion that I’ll keep writing on Medium as long as I’m enjoying myself. It’s a choice not a necessity. That feels good, too.

Has a great day. I mean — HAVE a great day.

Teresa Roberts is a retired educator, author, world traveler, and professional myth buster. You can find her books on Amazon.

--

--

Teresa Roberts

Teresa is an author, world traveler, and professional myth buster. She’s also a top writer on climate change and the future.